Make VDay Great (again)

 

I think as we get older Valentine’s Day has this stigma with it that it’s only for those in a relationship. But I’ve spent Valentine’s Day single and with dates and what I remember isn’t my relationship status at the time. It’s the way that ever since I was a little girl, my mom would go out of her way to make Valentine’s Day special for my siblings and I. She’d always make a big meal and serve us sparkling grape juice. And then, no matter how tight we were at the time, she always got each of us something. Chocolate. Cards. Candy hearts. Flowers. As a little girl it didn’t get much better. Now that I’m older I see the real gift that my parents gave me wasn’t flowers, but unconditional love.

In the world we live in today, we could use a little more love. Remember back to Elementary you, when Valentine’s Day meant giving everyone cards and candy. Somewhere along the way, Valentine’s Day lost its sparkle. It was less about telling everyone you loved them, and more about needing validation that you were loved. Today, whether single or not, be the love. Be kinder. Be more generous. Be love.
-1 Corinthians 16:14

Leave a Reply

